top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHeidi Fawcett

Tool kit, Go-bag, Everything-but-the-kitchen-sink bag...

Updated: Jul 27, 2020


Whatever you want to call it, every Event Planner needs an event bag with everything in it! Today I am going to talk a little bit about what is in my Event Tool Kit. I was inspired to write about my tool kit after reading another blog titled: 15 Must-Have Items Every Planner Should Bring to an Event (Social Tables, n.d.).


When creating your tool kit it is so important to think of all the little things you may need at an event. The more events you do, the more items you will add to the bag, and there is nothing wrong with that! I try to think of things that I will need, the keynote speaker will need, and things the attendees will need. One of my 3 Golden Rules is over prepare, and then roll with it - how better to do that, then have a tool kit full of gear!

My tool kit - It may look disorganized, but it has everything, and I know where it is!


So, let's brainstorm:

  • Painters tape - doesn't leave marks on the wall,

  • Write on name tags,

  • Thank you cards - never know when you will need one of those!

  • Posted notes,

  • Highlighters, Pens, Pencils! Sooo many pens!

  • Measuring tape,

  • Granola bar - this can be fast sugar for you, or if someone in attendance is diabetic.

  • Packets of sweetener - the last thing you need is an angry attendee who prefers sweetener over sugar.

  • Extra cords, adaptors, and chargers - for all types of phones, computers, projectors!

  • Ballet Flats - sometimes those heels can be too much,

  • Naloxone Kit (for overdoses) - ok, this may sound crazy but hear me out - a lot of events have older attendees, if one forgets there morning pills (but didn't actually forget) and takes a second dosage at your event, then you can very quickly find yourself in an overdose situation.

  • Scissors,

  • Batteries of all sizes,

  • Sharpies

  • Stapler, staples, and remover,

  • Push pins,

  • Receipt book,

  • Hole puncher,

  • Tide-to-go stick,

  • Pantyhose - you will not believe how many times you snag your pantyhose crawling under a table to plug something in.

  • Paper pads.

That is a small list of items I keep in my tool kit, but it is not an exhausted list! After each event it seems I add something more, or maybe even remove stuff I no longer feel I need.


What do you think of the things I listed? What else should I add? What would you add in your kit? Let me know in the comments below!


-

Sources:

n.a. (n.d.). Social Tables. cvent. 15 Must-Have Items Every Planner Should Bring to an Event. Retrieved from https://www.socialtables.com/blog/event-planning/must-have-items/


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page